00:00, 01 декабря 2002, Популярные статьи

The Paralympian

Evolvement of Sitting Volleyball

4 () 2002, 01 декабря 2002
Виды спорта:
Спорт лиц с поражением ОДА
Адаптивная физкультура

Evolvement of Sitting Volleyball

Ten men's teams competed for the World Champion title in Cairo.

Фото: Ten men's teams competed for the World Champion title in Cairo.

Fair Play at Men’s Champs
The 2002 Men’s Sitting Volleyball World Championships took place in Cairo, Egypt, from 26 September to 4 October 2002. Egypt showed enthusiastic interest in hosting the World Championships, especially after the good progress of this sport in the African and Arab region and the participation of Egypt and Libya in the Sydney 2000 Sitting Volleyball event. 
At Cairo Stadium's indoor hall, ten teams divided into two groups competed for the title. Group A included Iran, Iraq, Japan, Hungary and the USA, while group B comprised Bosnia, Egypt, Germany, Holland and Morocco. During the competitions, a pleasant example of fair play was seen as a German player helped his Moroccan opponent who had injured his arm.The German team asked for time out so that treatment could continue. 
Finally, Bosnia and Germany reached the final, where Germany was beaten by 3 sets to 0 and Bosnia was proclaimed world champion. Iranian Golkar Azghadi Ali was named Most Outstanding Setter, whereas his countryman Behravan Hojat was elected Most Outstanding Server and the Bosnian player Manko Adnan, Most Outstanding Defender.
China’s First Appearance at Women’s Champs
The picturesque town of Kamnik in Slovenia was the host city of the 2002 Women’s Sitting Volleyball World Championships. The tournament took place from 26 to 30 October and hosted eight national teams distributed in two pools: pool A was formed by China, Lithuania, the Netherlands and Slovenia, whereas Finland, Iran, Japan and Ukraine were in pool B. 
Making their first appearance at World Championships, the Chinese team impressed with its technical performance and professionalism. The different rounds at the World Championships showed many very good matches, which proved that Sitting Volleyball for women is evolving into an attractive and high performance top sport. 
At the end of the Championships, the Netherlands were proclaimed champion, Slovenia received the silver medal and Finland bronze. Japanese Saito Yoko was honoured as Best Setter and Anita Goltnik-Urnaut from Slovenia was named Most Valuable Player. 
Sitting Volleyball for women will make its début be on the programme of the Paralympic Games for the first time in Athens in 2004.